Nobel Prize – 1960

In 1960, Peter Medawar received the Nobel Prize for his pioneering studies on tissue transplantation and immunological tolerance. The Prize was shared with McFarlane Burnet who postulated the Clonal Selection Theory of Acquired Immunity.

Nobel Prize 1960 – The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1960 “for discovery of acquired immunological tolerance.”

International Union of Immunological SocietiesUniversity of South AfricaInstitute of Infectious Disease and Molecular MedicineElizabeth Glazer Pediatric Aids FoundationStellenbosch University