Ly Molecules

In 1976, Cantor et al., reported that mouse thymocytes can be differentiated into four different subsets according to the expression of the Ly molecules: Ly123- (now CD4-CD8- or double negative, DN), Ly123+ (now CD4+CD8+ or double positive, DP), Ly1+ (now CD4+) and Ly2+3+ (now CD8+).

J Exp Med 143:1391-1401, 1976

International Union of Immunological SocietiesUniversity of South AfricaInstitute of Infectious Disease and Molecular MedicineElizabeth Glazer Pediatric Aids FoundationStellenbosch University