Immuno-Ethiopia 2020

Dates: 23rd-29th February 2020
Location: Lakemark Hotel, Bahir Dar, Ethiopia

This course will be facilitated by an experience international faculty. It will include lectures, discussions and presentations focusing on the immunology of leishmaniasis, schistosomiasis, malaria and fungal infections in the context of sub-Saharan Africa.

The cost of the course, travel, meals and accommodation will be covered by the Volkswagen Foundation and IUIS.

All participants will have free access to online teaching material 6 weeks before the course via the Immunopaedia platform

Requirements to apply:

This weeklong course is open to MSc and PhD students, post-doctoral fellows, physicians, and scientists in the early stages of their careers, who ave demonstrated an interest in the research or applied aspects of the diseases. Applicants must be from Africa or Germany.

Apply below:

Deadline for application: 15th October 2019

Participants notified by: 10th November 2019


  • Please download the following form – Immuno-Ethiopia-Application-Form.docx
  • Fill in the form in FULL (We will not accept partially completed forms)
  • Save the document as a PDF with your FULLNAME (First name, Last name) in the file name
  • Fill in the form below and UPLOAD your application

Please note your PDF file must be 1MB or smaller

To reduce the size of your PDF file:

  • In Abode Acrobat – Select “Save As” – Select “Reduced Size PDF” and save your file
  • You can also use an online free service –




  • Pascale Kropf, Ingrid Muller, Edward Cruz Cervera (Amhara Public Health Institute/Imperial College London)
  • Gizachew Yismaw (Amhara Public Health Institute)
  • Endalkachew Nibret, Mu lat Yi mer, Endalew Yizengaw (Bahir Dar University)
  • Bizuayehu Gashaw (Amhara Regional Health Bureau)


  • Clive Gray (University of Cape Town)
  • Dieter Kabelitz (University of Kiel)
  • Michelle Letarte (University of Toronto)
  • Fabienne Tacchini-Cottier (University of Lausanne)


  • Toni Aebischer (Robert Koch Institute, Berlin)
  • Ridha Barbouche (Pasteur Institute ofTunis)
  • Yaw Bediako (University of Ghana)
  • Lloyd Chapman (LSHTM, London)
  • James Cotton (Wellcome Sanger Institute, Hinxton) Alain Dessein (INSERM, Marseille)
  • Friedrich Frischknecht (Heidelberg University) Asrat Hailu (University of Addis Ababa)
  • J. Claire Hoving (University of Cape Town)
  • Hans-Martin Jack (Friedrich-Alexander-Universitat, Erlangen)
  • Iva Kolafova (Charles University, Prague)
  • Benjamin Mord muller (University of Tubingen)
  • David Sacks (NIH, Bethesda)
  • Fabienne Tacchini-Cottier (University of Lausanne)
  • Jocelyn Turpin (Imperial College London)
  • Shona Wilson (University of Cambridge)
  • Addisu Workeneh (Amhara Regional Health Bureau)

Download Flyer – Immuno-Ethiopia-2020.pdf

International Union of Immunological SocietiesUniversity of South AfricaInstitute of Infectious Disease and Molecular MedicineScience Education PrizesElizabeth Glazer Pediatric Aids Foundation